Tags

, ,

I had never heard of Hamilton gold before I got some examples of it in the Good Earth and Royal Feather design kits from Andrew Thornton.  I have gotten some of my most interesting beads from Andrew’s design kits and destash sales. Hamilton gold beads are metalized plastic with a gold coating.  That means that although they look luxe, they are lightweight and inexpensive.  After years of loving beads, it’s really fun when I see new things.

HGgreen

I wanted to show a couple good shots of the Hamilton gold because I don’t think the beads showed up as well in the shots of the necklace I made.

HGblueWhen I got the tube shaped beads, I knew I wanted to use a bunch of them together in a necklace, and I decided that a Jade Scott pendant was the perfect accompaniment.  I have to admit I have kind of a large Jade Scott stash and really want to start using some of it so I can see and wear it on a regular basis.

HGmedI used some trade beads with colors from the pendant to separate the tubes.

HamiltonGoldclose

I really love how this necklace turned out.  Although it is a simple design, I’ve started to think I really like simple designs that use quality, unusual and art beads.  I enjoy the more complicated designs I see other people make, and I hope to continue to learn and mix it up.  But I make jewelry for myself, and simple tends to be the easiest to wear.  In addition, it helps to highlight the beads, and that’s what I’m in it for.

HGJS

 

 

