Tags

,

starfrostchallengedec18

Artist Andrew Thornton added a couple of fun special challenges to his regular challenges in the last several months, and today is the reveal for one called Star Frost that celebrates the beauty of winter.

My piece uses the special Mystery Component Andrew made.  I neglected to get a picture of it or the kit.  I’ve become so bad about that lately!  But here is a picture from Andrew’s blog:

star frost mc

Component and picture by Andrew Thornton

I also don’t have a picture of the kit, but the vast majority of the beads in my piece are from the selection of silver, gray, white, clear, and ice blue beads.  The kit looks like the best of winter – waking up on a crisp weekend morning when the ground and trees are covered in clean snow and ice and everything looks so fresh, sparkly and beautiful.

StarFrostmed

I had started to feel like all my pieces for Andrew’s challenges were the same.  I just love to take the beautiful mix of beads and use them all together on waxed linen.  So I decided to try to branch out a little this time.  Yes, I used the mix of beads all together on waxed linen, but then I braided the strands so it looks a little bit different, almost like bead weaving. I used the Mystery Component as the pendant and attached a back beaded section to the linen part with silver cord ends.

StarFrostblue2I had some blue beads I had always thought of as “winter blue” that reminded me of the color of the Mystery Component, though slightly darker.  I used those in the back with some crystal spacers from my stash and the larger white beads from the kit.  I used some gray pearls from the kit to transition between this part and the cord ends.

StarFrost fullI feel pretty pleased with this piece.  It seems like I did challenge myself, and it turned out!

Thanks, Andrew, for another wonderful challenge!  Now please visit the links below to see what beautiful creations the other participants made.

On Andrew Thornton’s blog:
