Tags

, , ,

rainbow mysteryToday is the reveal for Lisa Lodge‘s Pearl Challenge #4.  She hosts fun challenges and blog hops through her Facebook page.  This is a Facebook challenge rather than a blog hop, so reveal pictures will be posted on the page. However, I always like to get double duty out of anything I make, so why not write a blog post about it?

Participants in this challenge each received a kit of glass pearls in different colors.  I got this mix of blue, burgundy and vanilla.  I would never put these colors together or even necessarily pick them separately, but I LOVE this color combination.  That is the beauty of a challenge!

Pearl Challenge #4 kitI decided I wanted to do a fun bead “bundle” with the pearls.  One thing I’ve noticed with other wire wrapped dangles that I really like is they often have balled head pins.  I think that makes a nice finished look.  So I had some really nice balled head pins that I of course could not find when I was ready to work on this piece.  I got some different ones that worked out really well.  And someday when I find the other ones, I’ll have those for another project.  Yay!

I wanted the bundle to be full and varied, so I added some other pearls I had gotten in a separate kit from Lisa.  She also sells kits not related to challenges on the Facebook page, and this one was called Cappuccino.  Well, that hooked me.

PearlChallenge#4A few posts ago, I mentioned how hard it is (for me) to get good pictures of sparkly beads.  That was a necklace for Lisa’s Sparkle Challenge.  Glass pearls are pretty shiny too!  Also, the bundle moves around all the time, so depending on what has flipped where, the colors can look unbalanced.  But I assure you there is plenty of burgundy on both sides of the necklace!

I put this on a lovely copper chain.  I’m really in love with this necklace.  It’s fun to wear.  During this season, it kind of reminds me of holiday lights.  But the colors don’t make it very season specific, so I know this is something I will enjoy wearing year round.

Thanks, Lisa, for another fun challenge!  Check out the Facebook page if you’d like to see the other entries.

 

 

 

