Tags

, , ,

nobleknightchallengedec11Today is the reveal for another of Andrew Thornton‘s excellent challenges – Noble Knight.  Andrew was inspired by Game of Thrones and other tales of chivalry and valor. I am happy that he shared some photos of the kit because I forgot to take them!

NobleKnightKitI love Andrew’s kits because they are such a wonderful selection of beads.  This is a color palette I would never have put together, but I love it.  The kits always include a Mystery Component hand made by Andrew.

NobleKnightMCGorgeous!  I did not use this yet, but I have an idea for it that I think is going to be fabulous.  I just have to collect the materials.

However, I did make a necklace I am extremely pleased with.  When I saw the colors of this kit and thought about the inspiration, I remembered a heart pendant I have by Jeannie K. Dukic of JKD Studio.  The color is perfect with the challenge kit, and I think the design looks like the laced-up bodice of a gown from that era.  It could also represent a healing heart – lots of heartbreak and intrigue in those tales.

JKDHeartI loved how the beads from the kit kept making me think of related period clothing.  For example, the long, tapered red beads with gold reminded me of embroidered, puffed sleeves worn at that time.

BeadLove Noble Knight1

Andrew’s kits are so beautiful with such a variety of beads, I often find I can make pieces without adding much else.  Other than the pendant and a very few other beads, like the red bead for the clasp, I just used the waxed linen and beads from the kit.  I even used the some of the red seed beads in the tube to embellish the loop for the clasp.

BeadLove Noble Knight2

I had great fun making this necklace and know I will enjoy wearing it.  I will share the necklace I make with the Mystery Component when I get it done.

Thank you to Andrew for another fabulous challenge!  Please visit the links below to see what beauties other participants made.

Ann Schroeder http://www.beadlove.wordpress.com – You are here
Shaiha’s Ramblings http://www.shaihasramblings.com/
Featured on Andrew Thornton’s blog:
Andrew Thornton, Laurel Ross, Alison Herrington, Naama from Peculiaris, Donna Hoblit, Joanne Goldberg http://andrew-thornton.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

