Tags

, , , , , ,

Widgit5 Metal and Clay

Lisa Lodge, jewelry artist at Pine Ridge Treasures and blog hop/Facebook challenge hostess extraordinaire has struck again!  Today is the reveal for the Clay and Metal Blog Hop featuring components from Sharyl McMillian-Nelson‘s shop Metapolies. Some participants got Sharyl’s polymer clay beads; some of us received Sharyl’s metal components.  Kits could also include some coordinating beads. Here are some of the coordinating beads I got (the only things left to photograph since I didn’t get a photo before I started working).

PRT clay and metal beadsI received three of Sharyl’s wonderful metal components: a lovely sun charm and two rectangle charms with beautiful patina and texture. The necklace I made with the sun charm is all about mixed metal.

BeadLove - SJ Sun full

In addition to Sharyl’s lovely sun, I used some vintage chain I recently got from One Piece at a Time.  There is a very slight blue patina on the sun, so I separated it from the beads above it with some bluish sequins left over from one of Andrew Thornton‘s challenge kits.  I used some beads as dangles that I thought looked like sunlight; I think they are citrine and are a little more yellow than the picture.   I also used some heat-treated carnelian to bring in a little darker color that goes well with the chain.  I used spacers that Lisa included in my kit atop each bead.  I really like how this necklace turned out!

BeadLove - PRT SMN sun necklace fullSharyl’s rectangles are so gorgeous with their wonderful texture and slightly sparkly patina. I’ll admit that even though they are perfect for earrings, I kind of wanted to make something else with them since I don’t wear earrings.  But then I got over my greed. I added some blue crystals (also left from Andrew’s kit) a couple of gold spacers and two salmon colored beads with a really pleasing shape.  Those are from a nice batch of cool beads my sister’s girlfriend brought me from a trip to Colorado!  I am thrilled with these.

LH bead earrings

I was thinking about how you could take these components and make so many beautiful pieces of jewelry just by swapping out what else you use with them. That’s the wonderful thing about art beads and components; they are so versatile and always beautiful.  Thank you to both Lisa and Sharyl for a great hop!  Now let’s check out what all of the other participants made.  Have fun clicking on the links below to follow along and thanks for visiting.

Your hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist

Melissa Trudinger, Bead Recipes

Jo-Ann Woolverton, It’s a Beadiful Creation

Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations

Shaiha Williams,   Shaiha’s Ramblings

Toltec  Jewels, Jewel School Friends

Heather Richter, Desert Jewelry Designs

Marybeth Rich, A Few Words from within the Pines

Kim Dworak, Cianci Blue

Karen Grosset Grange, Ginkgo et Coquelicot

Ann Schroeder, Bead Love – You are HERE!

Lisa Prewitt Knappenberger, LiRaysa Designs

Carol Briody, A Beads Life

Miranda Ackerley, MirandAck

Kari Asbury, Hippie Chick Design

Susan Anderson, La Main Tresor

LeAnne Loftus, First Impression Design

Leithleach Seodra, Alainn Jewelry

