Tags

, , ,

Today is the reveal for Andrew Thornton‘s Royal Feather Challenge!

royalfeatherchallenge2

This kit, like all of Andrew’s challenge kits, is fabulous.  I had just taken a cursory glance at it when I got it.  Then I was at a bead store and a friend bought some really cool peacock feather beads.  I had a sneaking suspicion I had one in my challenge kit, and lo and behold I did, along with many other fabulous beads.

Royal Feather KitPM

In addition, Andrew always makes a mystery component.  This time it is a beautiful polymer pendant in keeping with the royal theme – a crown.  I love the sassiness of it.

Royal Feathers MC

Since I was so charmed by the pendant, it is the first thing I used.  There were some drops in the kit just the color of the pendant that I knew I wanted to use, and I also decided to bring in some of the purple.  I love the mix of the turquoise, purple and gold.

BeadLove - Royal Feathers necklaceMCNext I made a bracelet based on a tutorial by Lorelei Eurto in the May 2014 issue of Bead Style magazine.  I added the clasp and ring, chalcedony and gold link and the raspberry carved jade bead.  Everything else is from the kit.

BeadLove - Royal Feathers bracelet

 I have another idea for a necklace using the peacock feather bead and the strand of green vintage Japanese glass beads, but I can’t quite get the design solidified, so rather than stress myself out, I’m going to leave it at this.

I loved participating in this challenge and really enjoy the pieces I created.  I’ve already worn them both.  Please visit the links below to see what other participants made.  Thanks for stopping by!

On Andrew Thornton’s blog:
