Tags

, , , , ,

Do you read Polymer Clay Daily?  You might want to check it out.  The posts are short and contain links if you want to learn more.  It’s not “just” about polymer clay.  It’s about art and life.  Interested in a program that uses art to help prisoners with their re-entry into the community?  I learned about it on Polymer Clay Daily.  (In fact you can vote for the program to win a grant through October 21st if you click on the previous link.)  And there are plenty of tips and eye candy.

Not too long ago, I read about a polymer clay exhibit being held at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin.  I grew up in Kenosha not far from Carthage.  I wasn’t able to make it to the exhibit.  However, Polymer Clay Daily had a giveaway of some exhibit catalogues, and I won one of them!

CarthagePolymer

I received this in the mail today.  None of the pictures in this post will be great since I was moved to write it immediately, and there is about 5 minutes of decent light after I get home.  But I hope my enthusiasm for the topic will make up for it.

This reminded me of other wonderful exhibits I can relive through the catalogues or books.  My absolute favorite ever is the book for the Cartier exhibit I saw years ago.

CartierThere was no end to the gorgeousness at that exhibit!  And I’ve spent many hours paging through this book.  Just the cover makes me smile.

QuiltsofGeesBendThe Quilts of Gee’s Bend was another gorgeous exhibit.  The book does not disappoint with big, color pictures to drool over.

Niki de Saint PhalleThis slim booklet about Niki de Saint Phalle’s public sculptures (but no pictures!) is not from an exhibit I saw, but I bought it because I have enjoyed her sculptures over the years, particularly those that celebrate women’s realistic body types with joyful colors and poses.

folkart

Last but not least, I love folk art and outsider art.  People are compelled to express themselves through art, whether they have access to training and materials or not.  The passion embodied in those pieces is exciting.

Thank you to Polymer Clay Daily for sharing the catalog for A Re-Visioning: New Works in Polymer.  Do you have a favorite exhibit?

 

 

