Tags

, , , , ,

Lisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures regularly offers fun challenges and blog hops. The Pearl Challenge #3 is a Facebook challenge.  She holds these on her Facebook page Pine Ridge Treasures – Beads and More.  Today is the day pictures will be revealed on the Facebook page for this challenge, and I decided to write about it here as well.

Here is the kit I got for this challenge:

Pearl Challenge #3 kit photoLots of pretty glass pearls, right?  I was very happy with my colors, and happy that I got two strands of rice shaped beads.  That shape really appeals to me.  I decided to pair the two strands of rice pearls – one off white, one brown – with some faceted oval hessonite garnet beads.  I wanted them all to look mixed together, and as I was contemplating how to achieve this, I remembered a triple strand necklace I made from a tutorial in Bead & Button magazine years ago. Unfortunately, I can’t find the article any more, so I can’t credit the artist. However, I still have the necklace, so I took a quick look at how it was constructed.  Different beads on each of three strands of beading wire that are banded together every few beads by putting all three strands through one bead. For this, I used a bronze colored small round pearl that wasn’t part of my kit, but that I got in a destash from Lisa.

PearlChallenge3

I added a bronze metal clay pendant of a raven with a skeleton key hand-made by Andrew Thornton of Allegory Gallery.  I like how the rice pearls look like little buds the bird might be there to feed on.

PearlChallenge3#2

I will be using some of these beads for another great idea that Lisa had. Combine beads left from her challenge kits to make an item and post it in a Facebook album.  That should be fun!

Thank you to Lisa Lodge for another wonderful challenge!  Go join the Facebook page to see the beautiful pearl creations the other participants made.

