Tags

,

FestivalLightsChallenge

Today is the reveal for Andrew Thornton‘s Festival Lights Challenge.  The bright and happy colors for this kit are beautiful, as is the Mystery Component.

Festival Lights kit

I only made two necklaces for this reveal, so I have lots of wonderful beads left, including the Mystery Component, a polymer clay pendant made by Andrew with an old carnival ride in mind.  I look forward to using this and the rest of the materials in the future.

FL -Mystery

I love how my main necklace turned out – twinkly and fun in keeping with the Festival Lights theme.

BeadLove - Festival Lights

It only uses materials from the kit; I didn’t add anything.  It is similar to things I’ve made before, but this time when I thought the dangles under the focal were long enough, I challenged myself to keep tying on more beads.  And then I tied on even more!  I love the long dangle area below the focal.  While it might not seem like a big deal to some, I used more than double the amount of beads and length I would have in the past, and that makes me like the finished product twice as much.  It pushed me out of my safe comfort zone and closer to where I want to be.

Here is a close up of that section:

BeadLove - Festival Lights close

Then I was looking at the bright orange length of ribbon included in the kit.  I was playing around with putting beads on it and perhaps using it as a wrap bracelet.  But in the end I made the simplest necklace: one bead on one strand of stringing material.  I love the color, and it makes a nice layering piece with my other necklace.

BeadLove - Festival Lights layer

Neither necklace has a clasp.  The dangly one is long and slips over the head. The ribbon ties at the back (so the length can also be adjusted).  I love the bohemian ease of these necklaces.

Thanks, Andrew, for another wonderful challenge! Please visit the links below to see what beautiful creations other participants made.  I’m looking forward to it!

Ann Schroeder http://www.beadlove.wordpress.com – You are HERE!
Andrew Thornton, Alison Herrington, Laurel Ross, Cheryl Lee Tucker, Naama Eisenstein, Crystal Lombardo Farrell and Ann Mergl http://andrew-thornton.blogspot.com/
