Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you are a regular reader, you know that I have a goal to look at jewelry supplies at craft stores whenever I am there.  I want to be able to see them in ways the designers I admire do.  I was at Michael’s yesterday and picked up a few things.  I am most willing to purchase clearance items, which cracks me up. I’m somewhat extravagant (within my means) with art beads, but I get all cheap in craft stores.

I picked up three things.  Some orange leather, a channel bracelet form and some little spike beads (the red Bead Gallery beads were on sale!)

michaels8.9.14These items will be part of fun projects, I am sure.  I bought the spikes with Erin Siegel’s e-book Punk Chic Jewelry in mind.

I have been wanting an affordable necklace display for a while.  Many of the less expensive ones are very small and rarely work for my necklaces.  Well, Michael’s had some tall ones and they were on sale!  You know I was in heaven.  I bought one in white and one in black.  They will really come in handy for long necklaces or necklaces that look better hanging.

jewelrydisplaysObviously I still need to get things in good light for a good picture.  That’s not easy around here.  This isn’t a good picture, but I wanted to show the displays. I made the necklace on the white display using a pendant by Nancy Adams of Round Rabbit with three WoolyWire drops and a bird by Kylie Parry.  The beautiful necklace on the black display is by Melissa Trudinger of Boho Bird Jewellery with a pendant bead by Peruzi.  I had worn Melissa’s necklace recently and knew it was the perfect test on the necklace form.  It’s probably the longest necklace I own.  It was slightly longer than the display, but it was easy to adjust with a little piece of painter’s tape at the back.

I’ve been wanting to check for the latest issues of Belle Armoire Jewelry and Jewelry Affaire but hadn’t managed to get myself to the bookstore.  I was thrilled to see Michael’s had the new Jewelry Affaire in stock.  I find these two magazines extremely inspiring.  I hate doing errands, so any time I can combine things into a one-stop shop situation, I’m happy.

All in all it was a very successful trip, and I was just tagging along.  I always seem able to spend money wherever I am!

 

 

