Tags

, , , ,

I have two reveals today.  If you are looking for the Haberdashery Blog Hop Reveal, please click HERE.

Lisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures sponsors some wonderful, fun blog hops, and here is another one! The Summer Carnival Blog Hop.
Summer Carnival Widget

We each purchase a kit and then make treasures using as many of the beads as we can.  My kit contained a variety of cultured sea glass and tiara crystals primarily in blue and orange.

SummerCarnivalBlogHopI thought the large blue crystals would be one of the things that would present the biggest challenge to me.  Maybe that’s why I used them first; I had been thinking a lot about how to use them.  I decided to knot them on some waxed linen in a casual yet pretty design.  I envisioned wearing this with a summer dress while walking along the pier at night.  I really tried to stick to the Summer Carnival theme with my designs.  I was originally going to make it very long so it wouldn’t need a clasp.  However, as I was working I spied a pretty blue floral connector by Diana Ptaszynski of Suburban Girl Studio and decided to use it as a clasp.  I also used a lighter blue bead of undetermined material that I really like and a vintage glass flower.

BeadLove - Summer Carnival Crystal NecklaceThe other beads I thought would be especially challenging were the two holed orange beads. I often struggle with multi-holed beads, but it turns out I really enjoyed working with these.  I tried making a necklace, but I was worried it wouldn’t lay right, so I ended up making a bracelet.  I strung it on Stretch Magic, which I haven’t used much in years.  But I felt the design really worked on this stringing material.  I think it turned out very cute!  I love the smaller colorful beads with the orange – one of my favorite bead colors.

BeadLove-SummerCarnivalBracelet

 

I realized recently that I rarely make earrings for challenges.  I think it is probably because due to sensitivity, I no longer wear them.  However, I love giving away earrings, and with a plethora of beads such as in a challenge kit, there are many earrings designs one can put together.  Here are a couple pair I made for this challenge.

BeadLove - Summer Carnival Earrings

Then I wanted to work with the blue and white free form sea glass beads.  I love this shape, and I’ve admired a design by Ali on the Lima Beads website using these beads for some time.  I made a necklace inspired by her Glass Pebbles Necklace.

BeadLove - Summer Carnival Sea Glass

I have more design ideas and certainly more beads, but not more time.  I really enjoyed this challenge.  I’m pleased with my designs and think they fit the theme of Summer Carnival.  Thank you once again, Lisa Lodge for another great blog hop! Please visit the links below to see what others got in their kits and what carnival creations they were inspired to make.

Your hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist

Kim Dworak, Cianci Blue

Marybeth Rich, A Few Words from within the Pines

Karen Grosset Grange, Ginkgo et Coquelicot

Veralynne Malone, Designed by Vera

Ann Schroeder, Bead Love – You are HERE!

Kathleen Breeding, 99 Bottles of Beads on the Wall

Jo-Ann Woolverton, It’s a Beadiful Creation

Kathy Zeigler Lindemer, Bay Moon Design

Heather Richter, Desert Jewelry Designs

Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations

Candida Elkins Castleberry, Spun Sugar Beadworks

Catherine Yvonne King, Catherine’s Musings

Melissa Trudinger, Bead Recipes

Shaiha Williams, Shaiha’s Ramblings

Chris Eisenberg, Wanderware

Eleanor Burian Moore, The Charmed Life

Dee Alcalde, Agape Creations Jewelry

Marianne Baxter, Simply Seablime Jewelry

Carole Carlson, Bead Sophisticate

Karla Morgan, Texas Pepper Jams

Kay Thomerson, Kayz Kreationz

Christie Searle Murrow, Charis Designs Jewelry

Dolores Raml, CraftyD’s Creations

Marianne Hurley, Reads and Beads

Kathleen Breeding, 99 Bottles of Beads on the Wall

Marci Allen Koziolek, Krafty Max Originals

