Tags

, , ,

The fabulous Lisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures is hosting the Gemstone and Metal Blog Hop, and the reveal is today!

Gemstone Hop

Each participant received a kit with several shapes of one gemstone and some metal accent beads.  I received red aventurine, two designs of brass beads and two clasps.  I was really pleased with the variety in my kit.  Red aventurine is such a versatile color, and I love the brass beads Lisa sent!

BeadLove - Gemstone and Metal

I have started to love the point shape of beads, so I was drawn to those first.  I have also wanted to start making my own tassels, and I thought they would go well together.  I made one practice tassel to get the idea and then made the brown tassel for this piece and topped it with a floral bead cap.  I used most of the red aventurine points and small stamped brass beads.  I finished the necklace with some small brown peanut beads and used the brass S clasp included in the kit.

BeadLove - gemstone&metal1Next I knew I wanted to make a multi-strand necklace using some of the red aventurine along with other beads.  I chose the small ovals and used the rest of the small stamped brass beads.  I added a second strand of some green dyed jade separated by the brass floral ovals.  The final strand is a variety of white and grey beads (quartz?) with some brass rounds and a couple of leaves I had in my stash.  I used copper three strand connectors and some brass chain to bring it all together.  I had considered using green sari ribbon for the back rather than chain.  When I couldn’t find crimp covers in the right color (I know I have some) I tied small pieces of the ribbon over each crimp.  I’m not sure whether I will keep that or not, but it was a tip I’d seen.  I figured it was worth a try.

BeadLove - G&M-PM

I have a ton more great beads to use from this kit.  Thanks, Lisa, for another wonderful hop!  Now go and look at what other participants have made with their beads by clicking on the links below.

Our hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist

Kim Dworak, Cianci Blue

Marybeth Rich, A Few Words from within the Pines

Karen Grosset Grange, Ginkgo et Coquelicot

Veralynne Malone, Designed by Vera

Katrina Taylor, I Wanna Go Out

Ann Schroeder, Bead Love – You are here!

Kathleen Breeding, 99 Bottles of Beads on the Wall

Terri Wlaschin, Dances in Fog

Margaret Pelech, Big Margaret

Jo-Ann Woolverton, It’s a Beadiful Creation

Kathy Zeigler Lindemer, Bay Moon Design

Heather Richter, Desert Jewelry Designs

Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations

Toltec  Jewels, Jewel School Friends

Melissa Trudinger, Bead Recipes

Shaiha Williams, Shaiha’s Ramblings

Chris Eisenberg, Wanderware (May be delayed a few days)

Eleanor Burian Moore, The Charmed Life

Christine Stonefield, Sweet Girl Design

Robin Reed, Artistry HCBD

Laurie Vyselaar, Lefthand Jewelry

Cassi Renee Paslick, Beads: Rolling Downhill

Crystal Thain, Here Bead Dragons

Alicia Marinache, All the Pretty Things (May be delayed a few days)

Becky Pancake, Becky Pancake Bead Designs

Judy Campbell, Macmillanmarie Jewellery Design

Nan Smith, Handmade Jewelry Nanmade

Marde Lowe, FanciMarDesigns

Linda Anderson, From the Bead Board

Leithleach Alainn Seodra, Alainn Jewelry

Lisa E. Prewitt Knappenberger, LiRaysa Designs

Paige Maxim, Paige Maxim Designs

