Tags

, , , , , ,

I recently wore a couple of things I made quite a while ago. They are somewhat showy, and although I love that look when other people wear it, I shy away from wearing it myself. But I really enjoyed wearing these pieces. I like the look, so there is no reason to think I can’t carry it off.

The first is a bracelet that was hard to get a good picture of due to shine. I got these big, fat “pearls” at Michael’s. That fits into my desire to make pretty things from a variety of materials, including those from craft stores.

BeadLove - Big PearlsI love the way this bracelet feels on as the pearls slide over my wrist.  I wore this with a black and white outfit and think it looked quite nice.  The next piece is a necklace I re-made from a flea market find.  I wish I had a before picture! It was a multi-strand choker.  I actually liked it the way it was and would have worn it that way if I were sporting a ’60s sundress look, but I thought it would be more useful restrung as a long necklace.  I used the crystal and metal spacers from the original necklace as well.  I only changed the clasp.

BeadLove - ChucklesNecklaceI love the juicy colors of the beads.  It’s long enough to go over my head without unclasping it.  I wore this with a white and tan outfit.  The colors really popped against the neutrals.

I thought I would also share my materials for some upcoming blog hops this month.  The first is the Good Earth Challenge sponsored by Andrew Thornton. Here are some of the beads for this challenge, which has its reveal on July 10th.

BeadLove - GoodEarth1Aren’t they yummy looking? Looking at these photos, I think I missed taking a picture of the tube of beads.  The challenge kits are really chock full of great beads!  Here are more beads from the kit plus the two gorgeous mystery components:

BeadLove - GoodEarth2

Each of Andrew’s challenge kits contains a mystery component.  In this case it was two mystery components: the five faux Moroccan amber beads and the leaf charm, colored with alcohol ink and Gilder’s Paste.  I really love them both.

The second hop I have this month is the Gemstone and Metal Blog Hop on July 19th.  This is sponsored by Lisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures.  I got a kit with several shapes of lovely red aventurine, some very pretty stamped brass beads and a choice of two clasps.

BeadLove - Gemstone and MetalOne more thing to show you before I close.  When I ordered the Good Earth Challenge kit, I also ordered a charm made by Andrew Thornton that I had been lusting after for some time.  Some of his work is available through his Allegory Gallery‘s online shop.  I love this metal clay pendant of a raven with a skeleton key.  It’s very fanciful.

BeadLove - Andrew ThorntonCome back and visit on July 10th and July 19th to see what I make with my hop goodies!

