Tags

, , , ,

Lisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures is hosting The Ocean Blog Hop, and today is the first of two reveals.  I am in this first reveal group.  Lisa sent each participant a kit.  Mine was chock full of beads, pendants and charms.

oceanbloghopkitI have only seen the ocean once in my life.  I live in Wisconsin and was born in Illinois; both states have lakes galore.  But the ocean is something altogether different.  I was at a conference in California, and we went to the beach.  The vastness of the ocean absolutely amazed me.

The first thing I made is a necklace with the cultured sea glass drops.  They look like big, lovely drops of water.

bluedrops2I wanted something simple and light to show off the drops and that also seemed elegant and cool.  Something one might wear with a light dress for a romantic walk along the beach.  In addition to the glass drops, I used some of the cathedral beads that came with the kit.

Quite a while ago, I was showing my family some jewelry I had made.  I was talking about an asymmetrical necklace I really liked that often would go crooked while I was wearing it because of the uneven weight of the beads.  My sister’s girlfriend, Lisa, said that I could add fishing weights that look like small, plain beads but are heavy enough that one or two would even out the weight without changing the design much.  She said that in fact there were a lot of things in the fishing aisle that would make good jewelry components.  She proved this by sending me a selection!  I knew when I started to make things for the Ocean Blog Hop, that I had to use some of the fishing items.

oceanbraceletLisa had sent me a Little Cleo lure that looks just like a bracelet bar (once you take off the hook).  They come in an amazing variety of colors and even textures!  I made a multi strand bracelet using from the kit a medium blue bead, the heishi shell beads and some small blue glass beads.  I added some recycled green beads to bring in the green from the lure.

A while ago there was a video going around the web of baby leatherback turtles coming up from the sand and heading toward the sea.  The turtle beads in my kit made me think of that.  I made simple earrings with a couple of the beads and some swivels from the fishing gear.

turtleearringsI worked on several designs using the glass pendant (in the lower right of the materials picture).  That is what I thought I would use for sure when I first opened my kit.  But I wasn’t coming up with anything I really liked.  So I decided to make another multi-strand bracelet.

seahorse

I used the dark blue rondelle crystals and the light blue crystals.  From my own stash I used small white sea glass rounds, mottled blue drops and two large blue sea glass rounds.  I used one of the seahorse charms to dangle from the clasp.  I really like this bracelet.

This blog hop was very enjoyable.  Thanks, Lisa!  Take a look at the links below and visit the other participants to see their ocean inspired creations.

Our hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist

Christie Searle Murrow, Charis Designs Jewelry

Kim Dworak, Cianci Blue

Marybeth Rich, A Few Words from within the Pines

Karin Grosset Grange, Ginkgo et Coquelicot

Candida Elkins Castleberry, Spun Sugar Beadworks

Veralynne Malone, Designed by Vera

Monique Urquhart, A Half-Baked Notion

Katrina Taylor, I Wanna Go Out

Mary Ann Macri Jacobs, Trucksville Crafts

Jeanne Steck, Gems by Jeanne Marie

Ann Schroeder, Bead LoveYou are HERE

Kathleen Breeding, 99 Bottles of Beads on the Wall

Marianne Baxter, Simply Seablime Jewelry

Terri Wlaschin, Dances in Fog

Margaret Pelech, Margaret Pelech’s Ocean Blog

Jo-Ann Woolverton, It’s a Beadiful Creation

Kathy Zeigler Lindemer, Bay Moon Design

Heather Richter, Desert Jewelry Designs

Andrea Glick-Zenith, ZenithJade Creations

 

