Tags

, , ,

I’ve been seeing #tbt in recent weeks on social media.  I’m relatively new on the social media scene (a late adopter in the parlance) but I’m getting into the swing of things.  “Throwback Thursday” is the tag people use when they share an old photo or some reference to the past.  So I thought it would be fun to do my own version of #tbt and show an early piece of jewelry I made that I still really like.

facebox

I love organization projects, and I used to put each piece of jewelry in a box with a label so I could easily identify it.  This piece is called The Face in reference to the pendant.  As addicted as I am to art beads, it is no surprise that the pendant is an art bead that I bought before I even knew the term.

facecloseup

Mask bead by Cathy Lybarger. Isn’t it sensational?

There used to be a bead store in town called Jade Mountain.  It had the best selection of beads!  It was in an area with other really great shops, and I walked into one called Aardvark Art Glass.  I used to visit both stores semi-frequently with my boss on our lunch hour.  I had purchased some pieces at Aardvark, but I actually got this face bead (or mask bead to use the artist’s term) at a show in town.  I absolutely fell in love with it and knew it needed to come home with me.  The artist is the owner of Aardvark, Cathy Lybarger.

facefull

I have no idea where the other lampwork beads came from.  I still really like this necklace, although I haven’t worn it in a while, and I can see the silver needs a polish.  I might put a different clasp on it at some point.  Much of the jewelry I still like from back in the day features art beads, larger, bold beads or rustic, old beads.

I might feature other oldies but goodies in future #tbt posts.  I hope you enjoyed this trip down memory lane.

 

