Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t have any creations to show.  I have been making quite a bit, but it’s all for blog hops, and it’s not time for the reveals yet.  I’ve developed a sore throat and cold, and I’m doing all I can to get rid of it and not let it progress to an ear infection.  That consists of napping, drinking lots of liquids and taking it very easy.  But I couldn’t resist posting a few bead pictures.

Ever since I first saw one of Mindy Macgregor’s handmade lampwork beads, I have wanted some.  They are so detailed.  You cannot go wrong.  I finally have two from her shop Moogin.  I love them both.  I have a design in mind for the hot air balloon that involves a couple of new techniques.  I’m going to try not to stall forever in making it.

moogin

I have no trouble finding art beads I love, but sometimes I look at other people’s jewelry and wonder if I don’t know the good outlets for other beads or I’m just never sure what to buy.  The other day Martha Thomas of Martha’s Ruby Acorn posted some gorgeous beads on her Facebook page and was nice enough to share the source.  Martha makes beautiful jewelry (so check out her shop) using gorgeous art and other beads, so I went to the shop she highlighted.  Norah of Unique Gemstones by Norah has beautiful gemstones, and I bought myself a few.

norahblueandpurple

I got some beautiful Iolite (which this blog wants desperately to call “polite”) and amethyst.  None of my pictures today are that great, but these wonderful dark colors don’t show them for their true loveliness.

norahpearlsplus

I also got some apple red and yellow quartz and some pastel fresh water pearls, which make me believe spring really will arrive…someday.  I’m going to drink some more tea now.  Have a great day!

