Tags

, , , , ,

Each month, the editors at Art Bead Scene blog challenge us to use art beads to create something inspired by a work of art they choose.  This month the painting is Winter Landscape by Wassily Kandinsky.

ImageThis painting spoke to me right away.  I love the bold colors that seem to be a bit discordant on first glance – bright colors in a winter scene, pastel pink and blue alongside primary yellow, red and dark blue.  But it is not displeasing.  It is energizing and happy.  

I based my design on my first impressions of the painting – pink and yellow for colors and the image of a house.  I have been hoarding a beautiful little birdhouse by Mary Cullinan of Jubilee.  Its turquoise color is not any of the blues in the painting, but its charm is very much in keeping with the painting.

ImageTo go with it, I used some pink and blue ceramic beads by Gaea.  I brought in the yellow with yellow glass beads, including two vintage beads I call lemons that have a bit of glimmer like the yellow sky or the sparkle of snow.  I used one red bead and a bit of red waxed linen as a nod to the red pops in the painting.  Tiny turquoise and dark blue seed beads dot the strand.  I couldn’t resist including the turquoise and yellow bumpy lampwork bead by an unknown artist that I bought long ago.  It seemed so perfect with the little birdhouse.  

Looking at the finished necklace, it wasn’t totally harmonious.  I wondered if I should change the mix of beads to make them “go” better.  Then I realized, I made a necklace like the painting.  Go to the Art Bead Scene flickr page to see what other people have made in response to the painting.  It’s always fun to see how different people interpret the same work of art. 

