Tags

, , , , ,

Today is the day!  It is the reveal for the I Love Clay Blog Hop sponsored by Lisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures.  This was such a fun blog hop and turned out to be relatively easy for me, despite the fact that my original idea did not work out.  Here are the beads and pendant I received for this challenge.  They are beauties by Shelley Graham Turner of Tori Sophia.

Image

Beautiful beads and pendant from Tori Sophia

I love their color and style; they are so happy.  I used one of the beads and the leaf to form my pendant.

Image

Another thing I love is mixed bright colors, so that is what I decided to put with them.  I originally tried to use a tutorial for braided bead jewelry but it just wasn’t looking right.  I will have to practice that some other time.  I still wanted to use my colorful beads, so I decided to just string them on the three strands of waxed linen on each side of the pendant.  I “banded” them in sections with larger beads for more interest.  I would have used the same large beads for each section in order to tie it together, but I didn’t have enough.  However, I think the mix of larger beads works well.  I’m very pleased with how this necklace turned out.

ImageI am also very happy with my clasp because it is my first beaded clasp!  I have a couple of tutorials for this as well that inspired me to bead the clasp, but I did not read them prior to making the piece.  I didn’t use the method in the tutorial.  It could be neater, but I love it anyway.  One other thing I learned from this experience is that I tend to use mixed waxed linen colors.  I loved how the three colors I used for this piece looked together, but I can see that if I used multiple strands of a single color, that could look neater as well. It’s something to consider in future projects.

ImageI used the other two beads to make earrings.  The little swirls at the bottom remind me of the board game Cootie I played as a kid!

ImageThe I Love Clay Blog Hop was loads of fun.  Thanks to Lisa Lodge for hosting. Please click on the links below to see what clay treasures the rest of the participants made into beautiful things.  Thanks for visiting!

Our hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist
Melissa Trudinger, Bead Recipes
Kathy Zeigler Lindemer, Bay Moon Design
Eleanor Burian Moore, The Charmed Life
Jo-Ann Woolverton, It’s a Beadiful Creation
Chris Eisenberg, Wanderware
Carolyn Lawson, Carolyns Creations
Bonnie Coursolle, Jasper’s Gems
Dolores Raml, Crafty D’s Creations
Therese Frank, Therese’s Treasures
Christine Stonefield, Sweet Girl Design
Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations
Mowse Doyle, Mowse Made This
Janine Lucas, Esfera Travel Blog
Karin Grosset Grange, Ginkgo et Coquelicot
Kelli Nelson, Zenith Jade Creations
Ann Schroeder, Bead Love – You are here
Jasvanti Patel, Jewelry by Jasvanti
Candida Castleberry, Sugar Spun Beadworks
Robin Reed, Artistry HCBD
Katrina Taylor, I Wanna Go Out
