Tags

, ,

I made a necklace today that is not my usual style.  I was buying some gemstones from Sweet Olive Supplies and a group of large agate talon shaped beads caught my eye.  I knew they weren’t the sort of thing I would usually go for (at least not a group of them).  Also, I prefer faceted beads, and these are smooth as silk.  But as I shopped, I just couldn’t get them out of my mind. They weren’t expensive, so I added them to my order.  

Image

Agate talon beads, snakeskin textured spacers and Keith O’Connor raku swirl beads.

After the beads arrived, I knew I had made the right decision.  They just spoke to me.  I remembered that long ago I had fallen in love with some snakeskin looking little beads.  I have them in three sizes!  I thought they would be perfect to go between the talons.  This necklace, like most things I make, might change.  I like the green leather, but I might change it to a thicker flat brown metallic leather.  I also could not find my copper crimp covers, so I’ll add those for a more finished look.  Maybe that’s a good thing if I’ll be restringing.  I’ve saved myself a couple of crimp covers!  Here is a picture that I think shows the variations in the some of the agate a little better.

ImageI’m really pleased with how this necklace looks, and it feels great on.  The agate beads are heavy in a pleasant way.  It was fun making this necklace.  

