Tags

, , , , , ,

I got this butterfly pendant by Nancy Schindler Adams of Round Rabbit in the spring.  Although it’s not spring here anymore, it’s spring somewhere.  And this butterfly pendant has been crying out to be made into a necklace.

Image

Pendant by Nancy Schindler Adams of Round Rabbit

I had started one that I really liked, but it just wasn’t working out.  Some other good ideas involved techniques I still have to practice, and I did not want to wait.  So I thought of two things I saw recently.  One is a necklace that Birgitta Lejonklou of Angel Whisperer made for the October Art Bead Scene Challenge.  She said sometimes simple is better, and her beautiful necklace certainly bears this out.

I also had in my mind a necklace I saw last year and haven’t forgotten since because I love it.  This necklace by Heidi Post of Ex Post Facto Jewelry uses a beautiful Round Rabbit heart pendant with beaded chain.  I didn’t look at it before making my necklace, and I like her chunkier beads.  But I’m still fairly pleased with how mine came out.

Image

Just before making this necklace, I decided to make some earrings for Free Art Friday because I had so much fun dropping a pair yesterday.  Usually, all pressure of making something “perfect” eases when I’m making earrings for Free Art Friday, but today I tried two pair before I made something I liked.  I think it was because I had something in mind, but couldn’t find one bead I needed.  It threw me off.  In the end, I made these earrings that I really love!

Image

This is also a remake, although true to form I forgot to take a before picture.  It was just a very plain bracelet made of these three sizes of beads, but there were more colors.  I really like these beads; they remind me of vintage holiday ornaments.  I hope someone finds these and wears them to a fabulous party!

Image

I hope you are having a springtime moment no matter what the weather is where you are.

