Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago, Melissa Trudinger of Boho Bird Jewellry held a giveaway on her blog to celebrate some milestones, including 100 blog posts!  The necklace she was giving away is an absolute beauty, so I put in my entry and was delighted when I won!

mtnecklace

The necklace came in record time, and I wore it yesterday.  I felt so elegant all day.  In her post, Melissa mentioned that the necklace is very long but would be easy to shorten.   I thought I would probably shorten it.  I always love long necklaces on others, but I had some idea that I couldn’t carry one off.  But when I got it, the necklace was so perfect I couldn’t change it.  And when I tried it on, it looked great!  I think this will free me up to buy and make the long necklaces that I so admire on others.

This necklace is one of those pieces of jewelry that makes me feel more stylish when wearing it than I would otherwise would.  I feel like that’s what jewelry should do.

The focal bead on this necklace is by Natalie Fletcher of Peruzi.  Take a moment to click on over and look at her beautiful wares.  I also want to highlight a post on Melissa’s Bead Recipes blog from the 2nd Annual Challenge of Travel.  The necklace and earring set and bracelet she made are so fun.  I love that they are quite different from each other and yet both gorgeous.  That blog hop was hosted by Erin Prais-Hintz on her blog Treasures Found::Inspiration is Everywhere.  Check it out because there was no end to the beautiful creations inspired by the participants’ hometowns, including Erin’s.

As I followed along with the blog hop, I was impressed with all the creations.  One I particularly enjoyed is by Kim of KimmyKats.  It features a miniature quilt pendant by Julie of Me and My Stitches.  Quilts represent to me everything warm and comforting about life, and to be able to incorporate a tiny quilt into a piece of jewelry is to carry that feeling around the entire time you wear it.  So I have to admit that I went and ordered my own pendant before I’d even finished reading Kim’s post!

quiltpendant

Do you have pieces of jewelry that inspire you, comfort you or make you feel beautiful? I’d love to hear about them!

