Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It seems there are so many exciting things going on in the bead world lately. I would like to alert you to a few that you might want to know about.  First, a cool giveaway in progress.

ImageRebekah Payne of Tree Wings Studio makes beautiful beads.  Some of her most popular are her sleepy woodland critters.  I recently bought her newest design – the jackalope!  The the word “jackalope” keeps me in stitches, so I can’t wait to get it in the mail along with a beautiful floral pendant.  She is having a giveaway on her blog.  Guess how many critters she is holding in the picture above (additional pictures on the blog post) and you could win one! Check it out here.  Don’t wait – the winner will be announced on August 16th.

As much as I enjoy jewelry and beads, the techniques I want to use do not come naturally to me.  I am not a patient person, and while I am working on that, I could use some help.  Well, help is on the way.  I have signed up for Erin Siegel‘s webinar Fiber Findings & Finishing Techniques for Jewelry that is coming up on August 15, 2013 at 12:30 EST.  It is live so you can ask questions, but fear not if you will be at work or otherwise engaged at the time like I will be.  You can still sign up and get a download of the webinar that you can watch any time you want.  Bohemain-Inspired Jewelrywhich Erin co-authored with Lorelei Eurto, is my current jewelry-making bible.  I also purchased a wonderful e-toturial from Erin for a Macrame Flower Bracelet.  My very first attempt (at the tutorial and macrame) turned out pretty decent, so I know her teaching techniques are great!

Image

The third thing I am super excited about is Cindy Wimmer‘s new book The Missing Link.

Image

I need to work on my wire skills.  It really is the missing link in my jewelry making.  I am so excited to find that I didn’t have to wait until October when the book will be released.  If you order the e-book and book bundle, you can get the e-book right now and the print book when it is released.  I am usually an e-book girl; I love my nook!  But when it comes to jewelry, I want paper. Now I can have it both ways!  I ordered the bundle and have already seen the wonderful pictures, clear instructions and fabulous designs that populate the book!  I can dream and plan while looking at it on my computer and then later take the print book with me to my bead table.  This gives me time to collect a few more tools I’d like to have for some of the techniques. [Note: The bundle is no longer available, but the link above will direct you to where you can get both the e-book and the paper book.]

The techniques are separated into three categories: easy, moderate and more challenging.  There is something for everyone.

Whether you are just looking for a fun giveaway, an interactive class to start or improve your leather, cord, and ribbon techniques or a great book on working with wire (that includes information on patina as well as full projects from a variety of designers using the links), there are some great things afoot.  Check them out!

