Tags

, , , , , ,

So many of my favorite pieces of jewelry include beads that are the motifs of houses, birds and branches.  Nature is wonderful inspiration for jewelry and beads, full of colors, textures and shapes.  One of the great bead makers for these themes is Heather Powers of Humblebeads.  She is also the author of Jewelry Designs from Nature, planner of the annual Bead Cruise, founder and editor of the Art Bead Scene Blog, and teacher during her fabulous-sounding retreats.  Feel free to take a moment to be impressed!

I have one of her beautiful cherry blossom house beads.

Image

When I got brave enough to work with it today, I tried to also use a brass branch connector I have.  I liked how it looked in theory until I put the necklace on.  Then it didn’t lay right.  It can also be difficult to decide whether to use other beads and techniques in a necklace or bracelet instead of just keeping it really simple and letting a few beads shine on simple cord or chain when they are such beautiful beads.

My decision was to go a little fancy with this necklace.  I will wear it and see how I feel about it over time.  The fun part about making your own jewelry is that you can always take it apart and make something new.

Image

Another idea I had for this bead was to combine it with a bird and branch I have from Diane Hawkey.  So it is possible you could see that design with this house at a later date!  It’s fun to be able to have a little creative time each week to try to make something beautiful.

