Tags

, , , , , , , ,

All of you beaders out there know what I am talking about when I say I hoard beads.  In fact, I’m waiting to see the results on July 20th of the Bead Hoarders Blog Hop.  I’m sure there will be many fabulous creations as people finally break out their prize beads!

Recently I read a blog post by Staci Smith, the artist behind SLArtisanAccents.  She wrote about the inspiration for her doodle beads and also featured her carved black Zen beads.  I fell in love (as I often do with beads).  She was only listing a few in her shop and saving the rest for Bead Fest.  Since I won’t be at Bead Fest, I did not want to miss out.  I hopped onto etsy and bought a few of her beads.  They are gorgeous and such fun!  But the most amazing thing is I’ve already used one.  I used the carved Zen bead.

Image

Not only did I use this bead right away, but I also used some beads from Bead & Button, which was just in June.  That has to be a record.

Image

The long bead and red bead are by Diane Hawkey and the cream and grey patterned bead is by JoAnne Zekowski.

I like the simplicity of this necklace so that the beads themselves can stand out.  I like the sort of hippie feel of it.  It is closer to the type of jewelry I am trying to transition to.  It looks quite nice on, and it was fun to make.

Image

I’ve entered another challenge hosted by Sally Russick in order to keep growing.  This one is Creating with Cabochons.  I wasn’t going to enter at first because I avoid cabochons like the plague.  I thought to myself, I don’t have the skills to use them.  Well, come to find many other people feel the same way!  Sally was very encouraging to just give it a go, so I’m glad I signed up.  You’ll see the reveal here on September 18th.  I should have plenty of time to come up with something.

Until next time, thanks for reading!

